Going through a SE program

Jr Medina
2 min readJan 8, 2021

--

2020 has been a difficult year for our society, and while it is easy to see how this year has impacted us in the short term; we must lengthen our gaze and look further out into the future to see how this year has propelled out personal growth and resilience.

2020 is the year that brought much-needed change to my life. I have a tendency to fear change, but I have come to realize, I have made it through change before and I will make it through again. I had to learn how to be comfortable with being uncomfortable and continue to push forward, this is one of the many skills I gained while going through an immersive software engineering program.

While it was supposed to be an in-person program, the pandemic turned classrooms into zoom meetings and slack messages. I was already used to something similar to this, working as a corporate revenue analyst for a hospitality company. Most of the communication came from zoom and emails from properties all over the country. Limited in-person meetups, lunches, happy-hours with the property teams; you remember, actual human to human interactions.

This was a much different experience than I was expecting. The bonds I formed with the people who went through this program were much stronger than some of the bonds I created in the actual workplace. I have only seen a handful of my cohort mates in person once, but there is something to say about all of us going through a tough program and struggling together for 15 weeks. I am excited to see what paths we take, and where we end up in this industry.

--

--

Jr Medina

Soon-to-be Flatiron School Successor, with an enthusiasm towards Front-End Web Development, lifelong learning, and continuous improvement.